County LogoClallam County, Washington

Home Rule Charter

Washington statutes allow counties to adopt, by public vote, a "Home Rule Charter." A charter allows counties to adopt a "constitution" that can change their form of government and/or create requirements for the operation of goverment beyond those required in the State constitution.

Clallam is one of seven charter counties. Adopted in 1976, our charter has been amended by the voters five times. In 2015, citizens voted to review the Charter at 5-year intervals. Key changes from the statutory form of government under which non-charter counties operate include non-partisan elected officials, a county initiative and referendum process, and an elected Department of Community Development Director.

The Commission is composed of five members from each of the three Commissioner districts, chosen in the general election.

View our Home Rule Charter

Adopted Minutes

Archived Agenda Packets