County LogoClallam County, Washington

Birth and Death Records

Important Note: Starting January 1, 2021, a new vital records law and rules went into effect that changes the ordering requirements for birth and death certificates. For increased security of personal information, only individuals with specific relationships to the person on the record being requested can receive a certified copy. If you have questions please call Clallam County Health and Human Services at 360-417-2274 prior to submitting an application.

Identity and proof of relationship documentation is now required. See the Acceptable Proofs of Identity Documentation (PDF) as well as the Proof of Eligibility Matrix (PDF) for more information.
A Birth and Death Informational Copy Only Application is also available. See also the Washington State Department of Health Vital Records Frequently Asked Questions page for more details on the new requirements.

The new Birth or Death Certificate fee for 2021 is $25.00 per copy

Birth CertificatesWashington State Birth Certificates

Birth certificates for individuals born in the state of Washington can be purchased from any County Vital Records Office. They do not have to be purchased in the county of birth.

For Washington State certified birth certificates for births from 1907 to the present, please complete the Clallam County Certified Birth Certificate Application.  This document is available in Spanish: Formulario de registro de nacimiento para el estado de Washington. This application is also available at the Clallam County Health & Human Services office located on the 1st floor at 111 E 3rd Street, Port Angeles.

For certified birth certificates prior to 1907, order online from the Washington State Department of Health or by calling 360-236-4313. 

Birth Certificates are issued and available for pick up same day. For an additional fee of $5.00 per address your certificate can be mailed.

Death Certificate imageWashington State Death Certificates:

For Washington State certified death certificates for deaths occurring after June 2013, complete the Clallam County Death Certificate Application. This document is available in Spanish: Instrucciones para el Formulario de solicitud de actas de defunción. This application is also available at the Clallam County Health & Human Services office located on the 1st floor at 111 E 3rd Street, Port Angeles. Only death certificates that have been finalized by the Washington State Department of Health can be issued by our office.

Certified death certificates from July 1, 1907 to June 2013 can be ordered through the Washington State Department of Health.

Death Certificates are issued and available for pick up same day. For an additional fee of $5.00 per address your certificate can be mailed.

Death certificates that have been filed electronically will always be available at the county level regardless of the county in which the death occurred.

Fetal death certificates can only be applied for through Washington State Department of Health.

Cost for Birth or Death Certificates:

Certificates cost $25 each and are payable by exact cash, check, money order, or debit/credit card. Please note a debit/credit card transaction fee is charged of $2.50 or 2.5% of the transaction total. Checks can be made out to Clallam County Health & Human Services or CCHHS.

An application must be completed with all correct documentation provided and the fee paid prior to issuance.

Office hours: Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. (Closed for Federal holidays)

Out of State Birth & Death Records

To obtain information and/or apply for certified records from any state (including Washington) visit VitalChek.

Clallam County Health & Human Services
Contact Us