County LogoClallam County, Washington

The Trust Lands Advisory Committee term expired December 31, 2016. This Group no longer holds meetings.

The Trust Lands Advisory Committee will review and analyze the history, issues, benefits, challenges and advantages of re-conveyance of trust lands to Clallam County and if found to be in its best interest, to recommend such action as may be required to effect this change in the management of these properties.

If not in the greater interest of the County to seek re-conveyance, the Committee is tasked to provide guidance to ensure a continual engagement with the Department of Natural Resources and how it is promptly and adequately fulfilling its Trust Land objectives to Clallam County, its taxing districts, and its citizenry.

The Committee will address:

  • State Forest Board Lands (County Trust Lands): what they are, how they were obtained, where they are located, type of land, any restrictions
  • Trust land management and duties
  • Trust revenue:  How it is generated, received by the County, and disbursed
  • Habitat Conservation Plan:  Its relevance to State Forest Board Lands and impacts on the question of re-conveyance; etc.
  • Re-conveyance:  Requirements, likelihood, obligations County would assume, additional staff requirements
  • Next steps if re-conveyance is not in the best interest of the County

Members for 2016:

Joseph Murray, Chair Society of American Foresters


Robert Lea, Vice Chair District II
Rod Fleck, Secretary City of Forks

David Bekkevar

District I

Kenneth Reandeau

District III

Connie Beauvais

Port of Port Angeles

Diana Reaume

School Districts

Kyle Blum

Dept. of Natural Resources

Ben Pacheco

Junior Taxing Districts

Cindy Kelly

Clallam County Granges

Susanne Scott

League of Women Voters

Tom Swanson

Clallam County Republicans

Mike Doherty

Clallam County Democrats

Toby Thaler

Olympic Forest Coalition

Jason Cross

North Olympic Timber Action Committee (NOTAC)

Cynthia Bork

Environmental Groups

Josey Paul North Olympic Group of the Sierra Club

Coleman Byrnes

Olympic Peninsula Audubon Society

Michael Merideth

City of Port Angeles

Darryl Wolfe

Olympic Medical Center